Irish SEO,  Marketing & Webmaster Discussion
 

 

Go Back   Irish SEO, Marketing & Webmaster Discussion > Webmaster Help > Webmaster Discussion > Blogs & Blogging


Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2007, 05:55 PM
Cormac's Avatar
Cormac Moylan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baile Ath Cliath / Corcaigh
Posts: 1,173
Cormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to Cormac Send a message via MSN to Cormac Send a message via Yahoo to Cormac Send a message via Skype™ to Cormac
Default What is Elliot Back?

I have received about 3 pingbacks from a website called elliotback.com - Elliott Back Blog Network - And I don't know why?

I presume he is spidering for some keywords and then displaying them on his blog but I don't see the point in this at all.

He is after pinging/copying this blog post - http://cormacmoylan.com/blog/wordpre...lacknight.eire - to his own site - Moving Company » Moving webhosts from EuroVPS to Blacknight

Can I stop this kind of crap of happening? Surely it's a violation of some copyright?
__________________
my blog | Apple Mac Blog | Indie Music Blog | *
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2007, 06:01 PM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
Recent Blog: Jaiku Back Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,891
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

It's a splog.

I see my content on them all the bloody time.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2007, 06:33 PM
Cormac's Avatar
Cormac Moylan
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Baile Ath Cliath / Corcaigh
Posts: 1,173
Cormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to beholdCormac is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to Cormac Send a message via MSN to Cormac Send a message via Yahoo to Cormac Send a message via Skype™ to Cormac
Default

Splog eh? MMMM,

According to the Wiki entry, which I linked to, there are a few defences...

WordPress Plugin to Automatically add Copyright Message to your RSS / ATOM Feeds - Angsuman’s Feed Copyrighter Plugin -Simple Thoughts - Java and Web Blog

The TrustRank algorithm

Has anybody come across any fool/fullproof defence against the spurge of splogs?
__________________
my blog | Apple Mac Blog | Indie Music Blog | *
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2007, 07:38 PM
Hardcore Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 992
Gavin has a spectacular aura about
Default

Send a cease & desist to his host and report the site to Google Adsense for violation of your copyright.

It doesnt always work but some people have had success in dealing with splogs.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2007, 12:49 PM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
Recent Blog: Jaiku Back Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,891
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

Gavin

Does reporting the swine to adsense work?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2007, 12:56 AM
Hardcore Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 992
Gavin has a spectacular aura about
Default

It should as Google frown on splogs and have recently updated their policies to start targeting violators. One violation that a splog does would be:

Quote:
No Google ad may be placed on pages published specifically for the purpose of showing ads, whether or not the page content is relevant.
If it is a violation of copyright and is using Adsense a DMCA report needs to be filed.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2007, 07:56 PM
insert-witty-remark-here
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dundalk
Posts: 164
gary.b will become famous soon enough
Default

Or you can ban the IP they're using or serve up some junk text instead - with some .htaccess trickery.

That's if the whole thing is automated - if the webmaster is just copy & pasting from you - you can't really track them down. Filing complaints with adsense is your best bet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2007, 09:03 PM
Frontpage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
elliottback will become famous soon enough
Default DCMA them. Please.

What happened is I wrote a plugin for WP called WP Autoblog which can import an RSS stream as a post. This was so I could aggregate some of my and my family members blogs together on my front page using an all-Wordpress solution. However, it seemed to attract spammers who abused it, which is even worse for me, because it puts "Post by XXXXX and software by me" on the bottom of every import, leading some people to believe that I am a spammer.

Check out the plugin page:

WP Autoblog: A Syndication Plugin by Elliott C. Back

I stopped distributing it at least 6 months ago when it became clear the only idiots using it were for spam. Every now and then some family-type emails me wanting to use it, but it's too dangerous.

Sigh, I'm quite annoyed that this continues in '07. Maybe by '08 the internet will "forget"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2007, 11:11 PM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
Recent Blog: Jaiku Back Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,891
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

Elliot

Ouch!


Unfortunately DMCA's take time and effort
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.irishwebmasterforum.com/blogs-and-blogging/1468-what-is-elliot-back.html
Posted By For Type Date
What is Elliot Back? - Irish SEO, Marketing & Webmaster Discussion This thread Refback 23-04-2008 03:27 PM

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Successful Site in 12 Months with Google Alone montyauto Webmaster Articles 11 18-02-2008 12:28 PM
Seo to sem and back again Seodude Search Engine Optimisation 10 07-03-2007 01:38 PM
Adidas.ie Handed Back To Adidas blacknight Domains and domaining 1 15-02-2007 10:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.7.2, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56