(Please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.Thanks.)
Dear CEO ,
We are the auditing department for Pix Internet, The professional domain name registration and dispute solution organization in China. On November 25th, 2009, we received an online registration application for "XXXXXX(my domain & brand)" as their brand and
"xxxxxxxxxx.asia
ixxxxxxxxxx.tel
xxxxxxxxxx.mobi
xxxxxxxxxx.cn
xxxxxxxxxx.com.cn
xxxxxxxxxx.hk
xxxxxxxxxx.in
xxxxxxxxxxx.tw"
as their domain names from one company which called "XXXXXX". However, after our audit department checking, we found this is conflict with your company's domain name and trade name.
According to the registration principle in China, we will audit every application of our customer in order to avoid the conflict of the intellectual property. You are the original trademark owner, so I am sending you this E-mail to check if you object to their application and need to protect your brand in China. Our time limit for dissent application is 7 workdays, so please contact us as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
xxxx
Consultant
What should I do, is it some kind of scam, I can't see the scam in it besides trying to hijack my email some way?
I think there just trying to snap up domains in the hope of selling them back to me, still at the same time I don't want a company trading in china using my name.
What can I do?
Thanks, I was slightly worried for a few minutes...
what's the scam? I don't get it....why would someone go to the bother..
They usually off the domain registration service of the domains at grossly inflated prices.. So you'd pay say €80 for a .com