Irish SEO,  Marketing & Webmaster Discussion
 
ThinkGeek - Cool Stuff for Geeks and Technophiles
 

Go Back   Irish SEO, Marketing & Webmaster Discussion > Webmaster Help > Server / Technical Administration Tips and Queries


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 02:48 AM
Busarus's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monaghan, Ireland
Posts: 190
Busarus will become famous soon enough
Default blacklisted domain for email?

Getting a huge amount of undeliverable mail from my mailinglists in the last few days - literally thousands of emails...

am wondering has archiseek been blacklisted or something?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:51 AM
jmcc's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 277
jmcc has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busarus View Post
Getting a huge amount of undeliverable mail from my mailinglists in the last few days - literally thousands of emails...

am wondering has archiseek been blacklisted or something?
Has the IP of the mailserver changed or is there any pattern to the bounces (country/tld etc)?

Regards...jmcc
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:55 AM
Busarus's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monaghan, Ireland
Posts: 190
Busarus will become famous soon enough
Default

i think it has been blacklisted... i've had some spamming problems in the past which people misusing the server....

its not just newsletters coming back but also automated messages from the forums to members



The original message was received at Tue, 6 Feb 2007 01:36:00 GMT
from archiseek@localhost

----- The following addresses had transient non-fatal errors -----
john@xxxxxxx.ie

----- Transcript of session follows -----
john@xxxxxxx.ie... Deferred: Connection refused by av.blacknight.ie.
Warning: message still undelivered after 4 hours
Will keep trying until message is 5 days old

Last edited by Busarus; 06-02-2007 at 04:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:26 AM
jmcc's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 277
jmcc has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busarus View Post
i think it has been blacklisted... i've had some spamming problems in the past which people misusing the server....
The IP seems to be in SORBS. That seems to be the problem. That's the IP of archiseek.com according to a host -ta archiseek.com. But archiseek.com has no MX. But the record is from 2004.

SORBS Database Lookup

Regards...jmcc

Last edited by jmcc; 06-02-2007 at 04:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:33 AM
Busarus's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monaghan, Ireland
Posts: 190
Busarus will become famous soon enough
Default

balls
it really is time for a new one....
michele i'm still waiting on that price
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 10:45 AM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
Recent Blog: Jaiku Back Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,891
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

If you could email me a header I could analyse it better for you ....

Regarding pricing - one of my guys is sending it to you
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 12:50 PM
Busarus's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monaghan, Ireland
Posts: 190
Busarus will become famous soon enough
Default

Reporting-MTA: dns; irish-architecture.com
Arrival-Date: Thu, 1 Feb 2007 07:59:05 GMT

Final-Recipient: RFC822; arqvamer@prodigy.net.mx
Action: failed
Status: 4.4.7
Remote-MTA: DNS; smtp2.prodigy.net.mx
Last-Attempt-Date: Tue, 6 Feb 2007 08:01:22 GMT
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 08:15 PM
Busarus's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monaghan, Ireland
Posts: 190
Busarus will become famous soon enough
Default

if i cure the problem - how do I get myself unlisted
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 08:18 PM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
Recent Blog: Jaiku Back Online
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5,891
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

Most blacklists have a delisting system
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:11 PM
Busarus's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monaghan, Ireland
Posts: 190
Busarus will become famous soon enough
Default

trying to investisigate this further...
that record pointed to by jmcc dates from 2004 - why would it suddenly kick in now...

michele, can you check blacknight's spamlistings? and see if archiseek.com is there?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hacker arrassing customer to sell similar domain, can any thing be done? oliflorence Domains and domaining 6 05-02-2007 11:55 PM
Domain name for podcast site Cormac Domains and domaining 1 21-10-2006 01:03 PM
Domain Transfer Issue fieldcorbett Domains and domaining 1 03-04-2006 06:55 PM
.ie domain names mowd Domains and domaining 2 22-02-2006 10:46 PM
Free Domain Resellers Cormac Domains and domaining 8 05-02-2006 09:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.7.2, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56