I'll say. Seeing as the new one isn't even appearing!![]()
I see Richardo's site for Lily O Brien's has been replaced:
Original: Lily O'Briens Irish Luxury Chocolates
New site: http://www.lilyobriens.ie/Default.aspx
I'd say they'll drop out of Google completely except for the main page..
Sweetness in all kinds of ways
I would remove the drop shadow from the bottom stripe on the home page as it cheapens it.
Also the image of chocolates has not been properly cut out on http://www.lilyobriens.ie/Corporate.aspx . I can still see the outline of the image and shadow of old background.
There were some issues with domain propagation. Probably why TheManace couldn't see it.
BTW, you can be free and impartial with the critique - it's not mine. Magico [as you will see from the logo on the bottom].
I'm actually quite surprised by Magico here. Their work up to this point has been utter tripe in every respect but the design of this is a huge improvement. It's still not totally to my taste; the layout's a bit disparate and the grid is all over the place but the colours and imagery used are nice and it's fairly easy to navigate. Also, there's been some attempt at standards which, while far from perfect, is a damn site better than the horrid crud they churned out for, say, the Hughes and Hughes website.
In terms of SEO, the foundations are there but it looks as if there's loads of work to do.
So it seems that winning a Golden Spider for 'Best Web Agency' has some benefits after all. Companies that produce crap win it, manage to acquire hundreds of thousands of Euro in new business as a result and, in turn, are able to hire better staff and improve the quality of their work. Maybe the awards aren't not so bad after all.![]()
Last edited by TheMenace; 12-02-2007 at 06:56 PM.
i like the site, love the colours
richardo, are you going to charge for the use of the favico?
Nah! They can have the favicon!!
With regard to the validation, I warned Lilys about that. The original prototype site they had was crawling with errors [no Doctype??!!]. Lilys then demanded a valid site![]()
Good on ya'!
BTW, seeing as I've always liked the H&H bookshops I thought I'd meander over to their website (as it's mentioned here) and have a look.
Just out of interest (I'm sure it's been covered before, but...) can someone clarify the difference between having 'pages from Ireland' checked or checked? I just did a Google search for "hughes and hughes books" (with 'pages from Ireland' checked) and gave up after 5 pages as their site was nowhere to be seen. Eventually found it through Magico's site.
The website isn't hosted in Ireland, so it won't appear in the "pages from Ireland" results:
Code:root@palermo:~# geoiplookup www.hughesbooks.com GeoIP Country Edition: GB, United KingdomThat IP is in the UK, so if you go to Google UK and do the same search you will find the siteCode:root@palermo:~# host www.hughesbooks.com www.hughesbooks.com has address 213.232.92.204
Ah, I see. So it's not even tied in to the ccTLD then? (I assumed H&H would have a .ie)
Ooops![]()