Irish SEO,  Marketing & Webmaster Discussion

 

Website Copied

This is a discussion on Website Copied within the The Business Aspects of Web Work forums, part of the Webmaster Discussion category; Just came across an Irish web design company that has obviously copied design and content from my own website. There ...


Go Back   Irish SEO, Marketing & Webmaster Discussion > Webmaster Help > Webmaster Discussion > The Business Aspects of Web Work

Register Forum Rules FAQDonate Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

Reply

 

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:33 PM
Tom Tom is offline
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kildare, Ireland
Posts: 172
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Tom is a splendid one to beholdTom is a splendid one to beholdTom is a splendid one to beholdTom is a splendid one to beholdTom is a splendid one to beholdTom is a splendid one to beholdTom is a splendid one to behold
Angry Website Copied

Just came across an Irish web design company that has obviously copied design and content from my own website. There are paragraphs that are word for word taken from my site as well as some design elements. See comparison image and website link below (remove the x's). I'm going to email them to change it but any suggestions or advice before I do?


xxx.xxxgoegi.com
__________________
MGS Web Design - Web Design Kildare, Web Design Ireland
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:46 PM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6,022
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

Threaten them with a takedown. I find a verbal warning works wonders

You can also lodge a DMCA with Google, Yahoo and MSN
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 01:28 PM
babyboy808's Avatar
Wannabe Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Laois
Posts: 260
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
babyboy808 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to babyboy808
Default

Personally I would email their web host telling them what they have done and include your screenshot. Ask them to inform their customer to take down the copied content or you will be taking further action with the webhost.

This has happened to me on numerous occasions and contacting the webhost never failed yet.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 01:53 PM
Hardcore Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 995
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Gavin has a spectacular aura about
Default

Hosted in the U.S. too.

Have you tried phoning him? Could be an interesting conversation.
__________________

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 02:04 PM
Forbairt's Avatar
respect my AW-THOR-IT-AYY
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: My Office, Dublin
Posts: 1,776
Nominated 2 Times in 1 Post
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Forbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond reputeForbairt has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Forbairt Send a message via MSN to Forbairt Send a message via Yahoo to Forbairt Send a message via Skype™ to Forbairt
Default

Galway based ... never heard of them ...

I'd say check out the wayback machine on archive.org .. find out when they started using your content ...

send this info on to them / their hosting provider

http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.geogi.com
__________________
Forbairt Media | Web Design & Development Galway / Dublin, Ireland - coming soon ... ( vague but descriptive isn't it )
Recent Work: Safari Club African Safari Holidays - South Africa Safaris
Other Stuff: FluffyLinkulator Rapid Inclusion Service Tools
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 02:05 PM
blacknight's Avatar
Web Slave
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6,022
blacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really niceblacknight is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to blacknight Send a message via AIM to blacknight Send a message via MSN to blacknight
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babyboy808 View Post
Personally I would email their web host telling them what they have done and include your screenshot. Ask them to inform their customer to take down the copied content or you will be taking further action with the webhost.
It's not the webhost's responsibility. And if they take down a site without a court order they can be in breach of contract with their client

You can't take action against the webhost apart from getting a takedown, as the host acts as a mere conduit
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 03:03 PM
Coder
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 59
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
Lottoplus will become famous soon enough
Default

Well after looking at both websites, there one loads quicker, but yours looks better.

The websites are similar,but your right it is a bit of a rip off but I would'ent be overly worried about loosing business over it. I can't see a cold caller making comparsions between the two.

It just lacks any imagination when you design a website to act as your business card and its all copied from

1) A Current Webdesign Business

2) An Irish Webdesign business

I don't balme you for being mad and would send an email or phone call but don't loose the head because it could be argued that it is different
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2008, 04:11 PM
louie's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,939
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
louie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud oflouie has much to be proud of
Send a message via Yahoo to louie Send a message via Skype™ to louie
Default

I have to Agree with Lottoplus here.
It is similar, but in the eyes of law you only have few arguments to stand for.
__________________
:. Web Design & Development Web Design Ireland
:. Search Engines Optimization Search Engines Optimization
:. Directory Submission Directory Submission
:. News & Press Release Ireland GiveItSocks.com
:. Used Cars Ireland, Car Parts & Car Audio Cars For Sale, Car Parts & Accessories
:. I Have 2 Find It Directory SEF Directory
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26-01-2008, 09:03 PM
Frontpage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
myownfreeweb.com will become famous soon enough
Default

I had that happen to me also. The only thing I found that worked was harassment. Contact EVERYONE they have any contact with and tell them what they did and if the want to be associated with people like that. Eventually word will get back to them.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27-01-2008, 12:59 PM
TheMenace's Avatar
Hardcore Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 733
Nominated 0 Times in 0 Posts
TOTW/F/M Award(s): 0
TheMenace will become famous soon enough
Send a message via MSN to TheMenace
Default

Release the hounds.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Spurl this Post!Reddit! Wong this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
copied, website

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Avoid the Google Sandbox Cormac Webmaster Articles 26 18-02-2008 04:38 AM
Website now selling with no Shopping Cart? Lottoplus Webmaster Discussion 7 08-01-2008 04:52 PM
Website Copied MickyWall General Chat 23 05-07-2007 01:11 PM
Need help on Autoresponder Script for my website vckc4ever Coding Help 0 04-07-2007 12:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.7.3, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Hosted in Ireland by Blacknight - Test your ISP |Irish Hosting Directory| Armchair.ie|Logo by Eden Web Design|Avatars by Afterglow |Latest Blog Entries | VPS HostingAd Management by RedTyger

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0