Status
Not open for further replies.

Patrick Byrne

Hi all..

Just thought I d write this post to see how other free lancers are doing in the economic mess..
For those of you that call to business's daily insearch of work and making people aware that you are open for business, what reaction do you get off people..

The biggest hurdle I m getting lately is why do I need a website when Facebook is free to join.. Everywhere I go all I get is we have a facebook page ..

What are your thoughts on this???
How difficult is it for you to find work?

link8r

Hi Patrick,

I'm not a web designer but I was MD of a web design company for 8 years.

My take on Facebook: Most Irish businesses I know have less than 10k fans on Facebook. Most businesses I know have 5k - 10k visits per month. That's worth more than 10k fans on Facebook. Loads of small Irish business have only a few hundred fans. If you get brand new people coming through to your site each month - that's marketing. Updating people who already know you isn't exactly casting the widest net possible!

To be honest, I've never seen such interest in companies developing and growing their web presence in the last 10 years. Rates even appear to be buoyant and many of the best digital agencies are very busy. Many are too busy to post on here - I've noticed some of the regulars from when I joined are off everything - twitter, IWF, everything.

Also, GIBO should be driving further interest. As soon as people see how easy it is to get and own your own domain, investing in their online asset is the next obvious stop.

Notably, people like shops and some in the trade might be shy of building a website but depending on where you're based, there should be plenty of businesses who need to upgrade.

Maintenance is a big area. We had setup a dedicated web maintenance company (just a year ago) but we had problems with the CEO.

K

Kieran