Status
Not open for further replies.

fade2black

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here as you can see. Myself and some colleagues are about to set up a new site but want to make sure that we have covered all bases before we do so. In all honesty, we are all new to the process so and could do with some advice!

The site will be a commercial one and will hopefully generate some modest profits for us (through advertising etc). Can anyone offer us some start up advice that will help us along the way?

Thanks in advance

FTB

Cormac

Do you know what software you're going to use on the website?

If you have little web development expierence you should consider using a CMS. Content Management System. Which will allow you to publish, edit, delete and manage content on your website. Some of the major players are Joomla, Drupal and PHPNuke. I would recommend wordpress. It's the simpliest to use of the lot and has a tonne and a half of helpfull plugins.
WordPress › Free Blog Tool and Weblog Platform
WordPress Plugin Database

As for designing the site....there are 1000's of free templates available. If none of you have expierence with developing sites then you could easily get someone to skin/modify a wordpress theme for a small fee

Advertising wise you should look at phpadsnew
Welcome to phpAdsNew / Open-source ad server
It's a program you install on your website which can rotate between adverts. It's very powerful and easy to setup. It's got a handy plugin for vbulletin. (if you're going to install a forum of course)
phpAdsNew Banner Ads integration (advertisements, [url=http://www.tradenedo.com/]classified ads, Adsense, etc.) - vBulletin.org Forum[/url]

Finances