What Coding/Tools to Use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

webman1

Hi Folks,

Hope you are well.

I'm looking for a bit of Website Database Design Advice (Really what programming code/tools i should be using)

I have the following at work and need to create an interactive Web based system for our engineering department.

SQL Server 2005
Visual Studio 2005

Today, i have downloaded every "Free" E-book i could get my hands on and was amazed at the amount of code required in the ASP/VB.NET examples.

I think the Menace's site Hunt for Property is great and would require similar 4 drop down menus that are linked and will not cause screen to reload/refresh etc.

Example: Engineering > Vessels > Tanks > Stainless Steel

Are the programming/tools i have specified below the ones i should be concentrating on. Am i on the right track?

Visual Studio 2005
VB.Net (Correct Version for web?)
ASP (Which version?)
AJAX (for no screen refreshes etc.?)

I have little coding knowledge but know a bit of html/php etc.

If you could send me in the right track, it would be appreciated.

Tx,
S

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Is this for a public site or an intranet?

TheMenace

sullyman1 with all due respect, a summation of what you're asking seems to be "How do I build a website from the ground up without actually having to learn anything?"

Learning .NET is a long and arduous process and requires a great deal of dedication. If you were amazed by the amount of code/knowledge required from reading the eBook that you have, then be prepared to be shocked and awed by the amount of frustration and patience that you're going to need to a build large, complex working solution!