Status
Not open for further replies.

anaconda

Last summer I hired someone to do some SEO work on my website. At the time the site was designed completely in Flash. (When I built the site I didn't realize that Google didn't like Flash!)

The company I hired didn't make any SEO changes to the actual site because I had done some work with meta tags myself. They improved the rating via back linking alone.

After many months of not progressing any further I was advised to redesign the site in Joomla allowing Google to trawl the site for relevant text. I didn't have any money for the redesign so I decided to learn Joomla myself.

I rebuilt the site with the landing page as a blog (text heavy). I'm a wedding videographer so I wanted the actually wedding website to be very visual . On the main site (the one with all the back linking www.videoproductions.ie it has a wedding button in the main menu menu. When you click this it launches another site that is very visual with large images and no text on the 1st home page (www.videoprouductions.ie/weddingvideo). The idea behind this was when conduction searches the main site with all the back linking and text heavy would be the one Google finds (www.videoproductions.ie)

The new site joomla site has been launched for over two weeks now and I've noticed that its actually falling in the ratings (I'm now on page 7) I rang the company I was dealing with and ended my SEO relationship and I feel I will have more success on my own. I have the time and not much money. I figured out everything else so far so I'm hoping I will conquer this SEO problem too!

The company I hired did do a lot of back linking when checking with www.majesticseo.com I can see these figures

External Backlinks
Referring Domains
19 Referring IP addresses
19 are Class C subnets
3 Indexed URLs

My region is small just Ireland but there is a fair bit of competition for the first page! The top guy in Ireland for wedding video has these figures.

External Backlinks