Status
Not open for further replies.

jason

Hi, I am a Software Developer turned Web Developer. I have gotten my head around W3 and design standards. I understand the necessity for care in developing web based systems and the popular problems that arise and "hacks" that are often necessary to get things "working", cross browsers etc.

I have just installed Joomla 1.5 and am playing around with it. My problem (which I know is a lack in understand) is that I cannot see how these CMS systems are useful outside the scope of providing a user with a nice way to maintain a traditionally static website. For example if I had a personal site (which I don't yet), I could have typically divided the site up in to the following pages {Home, About Me, Contact}, very basic I know, but hypothetically it's fine.

Now the content on these pages, generally wouldn't be dynamic in nature and not require a database or server side logic to generate the pages, they could just be delivered as is. Now if I wanted a mechanism to simply edit those pages, without having to engage in the whole (download/edit/upload) markup cycle, I could employ a system like Joomla.