Status
Not open for further replies.

searchcreations

Hope I am in the right area with this.
Basically I had a "development company" work on a joomla based site for a client of mine as I am not technically minded and could not use the system the way I would like. Anyway work done but they said that they could not update some of the existing pages with new title tags. Net result is there is 1 homepage version with no title and when you hit refresh whilst on the homepage the updated title tags appear. My problem is that a search in google results in the page with no title tags so is google potentially not seeing this information which is critical for the homepage.

Apologies for the layman description but I would appreciate workarounds as the "development company" are drawing a blank.

paul

Ninja
do you have a link to the site in question ?

searchcreations

I have just emailed you the url as I do not wish to publicise client. If you can respond through the thread with any ideas without referring to the site that would be appreciated

paul

Ninja
Looked at the site, horrible implementation of joomla.

It appears that you have 2 versions of your homepage. The one at the Xxx.com and one where you click the home page link, it's another location www.xxx.com/index.php/RSS-Content/xxx.html

Basically you have 2 different pages. Google and other search engines may peanlise you for this.

I've recently move a webaite of similar size to wordpress, and it's a lot more manageable. Joomla can get tricky once you start adding these mambots, like the SEO one for example.
P.S. get them to remove the default favicon.ico

searchcreations

thks paul, appreacite that and I know,... it is a car crash!
Is there an easy way to denote which version is the master as when I scroll through all of the components I can only see 1 index reference so not even presented with the possibility to remove the extra limb!

Lottoplus